top of page

Racing at LBYC

Lowry Bay Yacht Club now uses :
Lowry Bay enjoys an active sailing programme throughout the year.

New boats are always welcome. There is a combined racing division for those who enjoy robust racing, and a Cruising division for those who enjoy a more relaxed race.

We generally sail on Sunday afternoons from the start line out from the LBYC Start Box on the wharf to the south of Seaview Marina. The bar is always open afterwards to relax on the deck or in the warm inside, with food and drinks. In daylight savings we sail on Friday evenings (no spinnakers).

To register for a race simply call in to the club rooms an hour before the start. If you are coming across from the other side of the harbour, call up "Lowry Bay Sports" on VHF Channel 62 prior to the start to register and receive the course over via VHF. You need to read our sailing instructions and see where the racing marks are before you start.

How to enter? Grab a copy of the Entry Form from the Racing Documents page and email it to

or you are welcome to hand it to the race organisation team on the day. 

LBYC skippers – SMS texting is here
SMS texting will now be used to communicate messages to racing boats. Skippers are asked to nominate themselves or a crew member to receive messages that can be conveyed to the rest of the crew, e.g. “racing cancelled” or “racing delayed” by sending an email with their boat name, nominated person and cell phone number to

Sailing Committee


Irene Muirhead- Vice Commodore

Lynn Porter - Sailing Secretary

Sam McDermott - General Committee

Jamie Reid- General Committee 

Daniel Benton- General Committee


Kathy Walls - General Committee

Brent Porter - General Committee

Tony Lucie-Smith - General Committee (also Treasurer)

Ray Manning - General Committee

bottom of page